Ebook review: 26 by Aditi Kaushiva

26: 26 Stories. 26 Colours. 26 Emotions, is an anthology that strives to explore the myriad hues of life by painting 26 bite-sized stories, each based on 26 colours which commence with every letter of the alphabet from A to Z. The themes developed in these stories range from marital despair to urban city-life blues, from love to loss, from child abuse to infidelity, divorce, and much more.

This short eBook is a collection of 26 pieces of flash fiction. Kaushiva wrote each story in a day, in an attempt to show that short, swiftly written and transient narratives can be as powerful as complexly-constructed prose.

Each story in this anthology is linked to a color (Black, no More), a flower (Where Cattleyas Couldn’t Bloom), or a gemstone (The Jade Mandarin Ducks).

The stories deal with infidelity, broken hearts, love lost and gained – human lives and emotions in their many hues.

In Where Cattleyas Couldn’t Bloom, two young lovers are forced apart due to class issues; The Jade Mandarin Ducks is an exploration on marital neglect and infidelity; The Khakhee Distress, one of my favorite stories, looks at death and compassion; and Quinces explores the deep bonds of friendship.

And like almost any collection of short stories, some worked, some didn’t, and some were just about OK. But given that they were each written in a day, they’re pretty darn good.

Think you might like these stories? Click on the book cover to download a copy – free!



Posted in Book reviews.

One Comment

  1. Pingback: Blogchatter Ebook Carnival | Blog Chatter

Leave a Reply